Major announcements

Apple will be holding its World Wide Development Conference (WWDC) the week of June 22 but this year it will be a virtual conference (i.e. streamed) due to the pandemic.

It always starts with a keynote address where things are announced. This is at 10.00 PDT, 13.00 EDT, 18.00 BST, 19.00 CEDT and will be streamed.

This year the big news is that Apple plans on moving away from Intel chips in the MACs to ARM chips. ARM is the architecture used in iPhones and iPads which use Apple’s own chips. See here:

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-06-09/apple-plans-to-announce-move-to-its-own-mac-chips-at-wwdc

In the past, Apple used Motorola chips and then moved to PowerPC chips and then onto Intel. Intel has had a few problems releasing their latest chips quickly enough so Apple would control the whole process of building MACs and not be beholden to Intel. When this transition occurs may be announced.

New products are likely to be announced as well at WWDC.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s